Home Page > The 7 Summits > Mt Aconcagua, South America

Members Asha Kumari Singh, Chunu Shrestha Nimdoma Sherpa and Pema Diki Sherpa made it to the summit of Mt Aconcagua on 23rd February 2014 at 6:15 pm. The team waved the national flag along with the flag of supporters atop the highest mountain outside of Asia at the opportune moment.

Maya Gurung, Shailee Basnet and Pujan Acharya turned around from 6400 meters at Plaza de Independencia to avoid various possible risks including that of frostbite.

The climb typically takes 18-21 days with summit target normally on the 14th day. However owing to bad weather the team had only summit window of 23rd February. The members pushed for the summit on the 9th day of the expedition. In a climb that normally takes more than two weeks, all members arrived safely back to the base camp on the 10th day of the expedition.

Mission supporters include Government of Nepal, Nepal Tourism Board as well as Nepal Mountaineering Association, Trekking Agencies’ Association of Nepal (TAAN), The North Face, Panchakanya Group, Golchha Organization, President Travel, Association of Chartered Accountants Nepal, NEBICO, Mountain Delight Treks and SmartPaani.

The climb was organized marking International Women’s Day 2014 highlighting the cause of education, empowerment and environment. Following the climb, Nepal Tourism Board organized two celebratory events in Buenos Aires and Sao Paulo with an objective to promote destination Nepal in the South American continent. Embassy of Nepal in Brazil coordinated the events. The team celebrated Women’s Day in experience sharing session with Professional Women’s Network in Sao Paulo.